BeyondTrust (Bomgar) Getting Started Guide

Overview

BeyondTrust Remote Support (Bomgar) provides fast, all-inclusive remote support for IT and support professionals. Learn more about purchasing a BeyondTrust Remote Support License.

BeyondTrust Representative Console

Installing the Representative Console:

  1. Go to https://connect.utk.edu/login and log in with your NetID and Password. 
  2. Click on the My Account section. You can choose to install the application for PC, Mac, and Linux. Select your platform, download, and then install the application.
  3. Log in to the console when you need to work with someone & please log out once your session is finished to free up the license. Up to 20 people can be logged in at one time. 
  4. To log out, go to File > Log Out. If you are logged in & inactive for more than 15 minutes, you will be logged out by the system.

Updating Your Display Name

Once you log in to the client, your name will be displayed for users to click on. By default, your first name will be displayed. If you have a common name, like John, we recommend that you add the first initial of your last name (John M, John T, John R, etc). Please use either your first name or first name last initial. 
To change your display name on the website: 

  1. Go to https://connect.utk.edu/login and log in with your NetID and password 
  2. Click on the My Account section.
  3. Scroll down to the Change Your Display Names section. 
  4. Enter your new display name in the Private or Public Display Name field(s). 
  5. Click on Change Display Names and select YES

Tips

  • Security: BeyondTrust doesn’t leave a back door for us to log into.
  • You can invite another agent to join your session or transfer your session to another person.
  • You can transfer files, run command shell, access the registry, and get system information from the console tabs.
  • You will also see a running Chat on the right of the console. This will let you know if you are waiting for the user to do something (i.e. allow or refuse you access)

Recommended Settings

Automatically request screen sharing

After logging into the BeyondTrust application, go to Representative Console > Preferences (Mac) or File > Settings (Win). Select Automatic Behavior and check Automatically request screen sharing

Getting the End-User Connected

There are a few ways in which you can have your users get connected. The first 2 start at https://connect.utk.edu

  1. Customers can click on your name from the https://connect.utk.edu website. They will be prompted to Run or Save a file to get started, depending on which browser they are using.
  2. You can also issue the customer a session key. 
    1. To issue a session key, choose Start from the console menu and select Generated Session Key. Session keys time out, so users won’t be able to use them indefinitely. 
    2. Give the user the session key to enter on https://connect.utk.edu.
  3. Email a Link to the customer. Choose Start from the console menu and select Email. The customer will click on the link in the email to start the connection. 

Starting a session:

  1. BeyondTrust will prompt you when there is a new session. Double click on the session to connect.
  2. Click the green play button to start screen sharing if you have not set to Automatically request screen sharing as instructed above.
  3. The customer will be prompted to “Allow” or “Refuse” the connection.
  4. Once you start screen sharing, your action icons will no longer be grayed out. Any icon that is still grayed out, may require elevated permissions.

Session Features (From Left to Right):

  • Stop Screen Sharing
  • Disable Your Control of the Customer’s Mouse
  • Annotations
  • Power/Reboot Options
  • Control+Alt+Delete (Windows only)
  • Special Actions (Control Panel, Task Manager, Start Menu, Show Desktop, Run, Windows Explorer, Internet Explorer)
  • Screen Shot 
  • Multiple Displays
  • Scaled/Actual Size
  • Quality
  • Agent Console Full Screen

Additional Features (From Left to Right):

  • Elevate Customer Client Privileges
  • Transfer to another Agent
  • Invite another Agent
  • Remove Customer or Rep
  • Deploy BeyondTrust Button 
  • Pin as Jump Client
  • End session

Admin Access

For a user who has limited access to their computer, you will see a banner at the top. If they know their admin credentials, you can request permissions for elevated access which gives access for installing/uninstalling programs among other features. 

You will be prompted to choose how you wish to gather credentials. You can choose to prompt the customer for their credentials or you can enter the credentials of a specific user (say you have admin on the domain). The customer will click the shield icon in the taskbar and then choose to Allow the program to make changes to the computer. 

You will see pop up window to Prompt the Customer for elevation.

  • Your Mac end-users will be prompted to enter their macOS credentials.
  • Your Windows end-users will see the shield icon flashing in the taskbar. 

Details

Article ID: 118326
Created
Wed 10/14/20 1:52 PM
Modified
Wed 10/14/20 4:29 PM
Environment
BeyondTrust (Bomgar)