Account Access after Graduating or Leaving UT

Overview

After leaving UT, you may retain access to certain online services depending on your affiliation with the university. This article outlines the details of the services that you can retain access to as well as how long you will be able to access them following your leaving UT. Note that this article applies to your final status at the University. For example, if you were a student who became faculty or staff, the Faculty/Staff policies will apply to you even though you were a student. 

Checking your Left UT Date

Visit directory.utk.edu and search for your name.

Students

NetID

You will retain access to OIT services that authenticate with your NetID and password for one year. One calendar year after your Left UT date, your NetID and all access granted by your NetID will be deleted, with the exception of your Volmail account.

Email

You will retain access to your UT Microsoft 365 or Gmail @vols.utk.edu account and email address indefinitely. Every Spring, you will receive a notice with instructions on how to confirm that you are still using your account. If we don't receive a confirmation by the deadline listed in the message, your account will be disabled for one year. During this one-year period, it won't be possible to sign in to the account, but you can reactivate it by contacting the OIT HelpDesk for assistance. If the account is not reactivated after being disabled for a full year, the account and its contents will be permanently deleted.

Note: One year after you leave the University, your @utk.edu, @tennessee.edu, and other email aliases will no longer deliver email. You will still be able to use and receive an email at your @vols.utk.edu address.

Microsoft 365 OneDrive and other online apps

You will retain access to the online versions of most Microsoft 365 services, including OneDrive, for as long as your @vols.utk.edu email account remains active. If your email account is deleted due to inactivity, you will also lose access to all online Microsoft 365 services. Any data remaining in OneDrive will also be permanently deleted.

Note: The desktop versions of Microsoft Office are not included in this policy. See the Microsoft Office section below for more details.

Google Drive and other online apps

Access to Google Workspace, including Google Drive, will remain available after you leave the university

Microsoft Office

Once you have left the University, your Microsoft Office ProPlus subscription will end, and access to the desktop suite and web applications will be unavailable. After this time, you will need to enroll in other available consumer or commercial offers from Microsoft or other third-party retailers.

Software Downloads

Access to the OIT Software Download site will end on your Left UT date in the UT Directory.  Additionally, once you have left the university, you are no longer licensed to use this software and it must be removed from your computers.

Apps@UTK

Your access to Apps@UTK will end on your Left UT date.

OIT Labs

You will retain access for one calendar year after the Left UT date.

Canvas

Your access to Canvas will end on your Left UT date. 

MyUTK

Access to MyUTK and unofficial academic transcripts will end one calendar year after your Left UT date. Official transcripts can be ordered online at onestop.utk.edu

Web Surveys

Your access to Qualtrics will end on your Left UT date.

Linux / VolWeb Account

Your Linux/VolWeb account will be deleted one calendar year after your Left UT date.

Faculty and Staff

NetID

You will retain access to OIT services that authenticate with your NetID and password for one year. One calendar year after your Left UT date, your NetID and all access granted by your NetID will be deleted.

UT Email* 

You will retain access for 30 days after your Left UT date. At the end of this time, the account and any email forwarding that has been set will be deleted. Contact the OIT HelpDesk at 865-974-9900 if you need to request an extension of up to 90 days from your Left UT date.

Microsoft 365 Apps and OneDrive 

You will retain access for 30 days after your Left UT date. After this period, access to the files stored in your UTK OneDrive for Business will be unavailable and the files deleted by Microsoft. Microsoft provides instructions on their website for migrating your data. Contact the OIT HelpDesk at 865-974-9900 if you need to request an extension of up to 90 days from your Left UT date.

Google Drive and other online apps 

You will retain access for 30 days after your Left UT date. At the end of this time, access to the files stored in your UTK Google Drive will be unavailable and the files deleted by Google. Contact the OIT HelpDesk at 865-974-9900 if you need to request an extension of up to 90 days from your Left UT date.

Microsoft Office

Once you have left the University, your Microsoft Office ProPlus subscription will end, and access to the desktop suite and web applications will be unavailable. Your license for the Home Use Program will no longer be valid.  After this time, you will need to enroll in other available consumer or commercial offers from Microsoft or other third-party retailers.

Software Downloads

Access to the OIT Software Download site will end on your Left UT date in the UT Directory.  Additionally, once you have left the university, you are no longer licensed to use this software, and it must be removed from your computers.

Apps@UT

Your access to Apps@UT will end on your Left UT date.

OIT Labs

You will retain access for one calendar year after your Left UT date.

Canvas

Your access to Canvas will end on your Left UT date. 

Web Surveys

Your access to Qualtrics will end on your Left UT date.

Linux / VolWeb Account

Your Linux/VolWeb account will be deleted one calendar year after your Left UT date.

* Retirees with at least ten years of service are eligible to retain an email account by contacting Benefits and Retirement, http://humanresources.tennessee.edu/benefits.

Details

Article ID: 118294
Created
Wed 10/14/20 8:49 AM
Modified
Thu 5/19/22 1:42 PM
Environment
NetID