Overview
Do you have Microsoft Teams you no longer need, or teams for completed projects? Consider archiving them. Archiving preserves the team, makes it read-only for all members, and keeps it available in case you need to restore it later. This brief article will walk you through Archiving a Team as well as Restoring a Team.
Archiving a Team is limited to the Team Owner. Members can't archive or restore a team.
Once archived, owners can add and remove members, update roles, edit content, and restore the Team, if needed. Team Members can view content only.
Instructions
Combined List View
The Archive option is only available when you view your Teams in the Combined List View.
- Select the ellipsis menu in the upper right of the Teams window.
- Select Settings
- Select Chats and Channels
- Select List
- Select Combined

- Select the Chat icon
- Select Channels

- Select the ellipsis menu for the Team to be archived
- Select Archive

- Select the checkbox to Make the SharePoint site read-only for team members, if needed.
- Select Archive.

In the Combined List View:
- Select the ellipsis menu for Chat
- Select Your Teams and Channels

- Select the 3-more drop-down menu
- Select Archived Teams

- Select the ellipsis for your Archived Team
- Select Restore
